Tortilla Soup…and afterthoughts…

16 Jul

I love spicy things. Spicy stir-fry. Spicy pasta. Spicy soup. I also love avocado.

This soup brings the best of both worlds.

Quick Tortilla Soup

1 can enchilada sauce
1 can 15oz diced tomatoes
1 can black beans
1 cup frozen corn
4 cups veggie broth
1 jalapeno
1 medium red onion
Salt and pepper to taste
handful of cilantro (for soup and for topping)
1 avocado, cut into slices

Saute the onion in a little oil until translucent. Add the remaining ingredients and bring to a boil. Let simmer for 20-30 minutes. Taste to adjust spices.

Top with cilantro and sliced avocados and enjoy!

Vegetarian Voice

I have an article featured in Vegetarian voice this month called “Vegan Pack and Go”. I’m pretty excited about it!

New Addition

I’m am also please to announce the arrival of my new puppy!

Luna is a pug puppy I adopted from a local animal shelter. The shelter received 14 pugs in late June, 6 of them being puppies. I visited the shelter numerous times but when I saw the puglets on the web site I was surprised and excited! Pugs fit my lifestyle very well, although I really didn’t have any intention of getting a purebred dog (though I wasn’t against adopting any dog!). I’m so glad I adopted this little one! She is feisty but also smart and lovable!

Leave a Reply

