Summer Means More Cookin’

13 Jun

Now that I am relatively settled in from moving, a dog adoption that went very badly, and my one summer course I feel I can really focus on some good food. I’ve cooked so much the last few days but took no pictures. It has been awhile since I made any sort of formal blog post—with good reason. Between my Master’s program and working two jobs I didn’t have much time for blogging. And although that has only slightly changed, I need to blog more to keep my sanity and creative juices flowing. I’m cooking, so why shouldn’t I be sharing? I’ve made some dietary changes which have also impacted my food choices. I am now eating local, free-range eggs, and I limit my soy intake. My health has been improving (although I may have a soy intolerance), so I recommend it.

My favorite local farmer’s group has recently started getting in their really good stuff: onions, summer squash, blackberries, blueberries, and peaches. I snagged a squash and a tomato on my last trip and can’t wait to grab some blackberries for cobbler. I’ve yet to break out the ice cream maker, and I think some vanilla almond ice cream and blackberry cobbler sounds like a great way to spend next weekend…

2 Responses to “Summer Means More Cookin’”

  1. Brenda June 16, 2010 at 10:58 am #

    Let me know if you need help eating the ice cream and cobbler. It’s a tough job, but someone’s gotta do it…. 🙂

    • K June 19, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

      I will definitely try to share some of my next baked goods with the office. I always mean to, and then I eat it all. :0

Leave a Reply

