Something Soupy

10 Nov

I like soup when I’m feeling cruddy; when I’m feeling like I don’t really want to stand over a wok and stir tofu and broccoli constantly, while my rice bubbles over; and when I’m feeling absolutely fantastic and it just sounds darn tasty. The following soup is for the first instance. With Kale, lots of garlic, and carrots, this soup is one slupingly good, immunity boosting, illness busting powerhouse.

Super Anti-Sick Veggie Soup

  • 1 small onion
  • 5 cloves garlic
  • 3-4 stalks celery
  • 1/2 cup chopped kale
  • 1/2 cup chopped carrots
  • 1/4 tsp. turmeric
  • dash cayenne (opt out if your tummy is feeling sicky)
  • 7 cups water (it’s a big soup and you want lots of broth)+ veg broth maker/bouillon for 6 cups
  • 2 tsp white miso
  • 1 can pinto/navy/kidney/garbanzo beans or 1 cup cubed tofu (OPTIONAL)

Directions: Chop garlic and onion and saute in oil for about five minutes, stirring so the garlic doesn’t stick and burn. Add carrots, celery, water+veggie broth and bring to a boil.

Lower heat to medium, add beans now if you are doing so and simmer for about 15 minutes. If soup begins to boil, lower heat some more, just keep some movement in it.

Turn heat to low, add miso, and kale until just wilted.

Enjoy!

Nov_Dec 008

Oh looks! Soup!

2 Responses to “Something Soupy”

  1. aredcardigan November 10, 2009 at 4:23 am #

    I bet with that soup you’re feeling muuuuch better already! Get well soon hun! Oooh you know what would go really good with that? Crackers! Too bad goldfish crackers aren’t vegan though I believed someone made it vegan once…let me check for the link…

    http://shmooedfood.blogspot.com/2007/01/vegan-goldfish-crackers.html

  2. Nicole November 10, 2009 at 8:41 pm #

    This sounds great! I feel like I might be getting sick so it’s the perfect time for me to see it 🙂

Leave a Reply

