Chickpea Cutlets and Roasted Butternut Squash

8 Nov

I love butternut squash. It’s perfectly sweet enough to be complimented with a sprinkle of cinnamon and sugar yet still savory enough to be called a side dish and not a dessert. It’s easy to chop and makes an awesome addition in stir-fry’s, soups, curries, and stews.

For the butternut squash that was once resting atop my refridgerator, I decided to roast it and serve it alongside chickpea cutlets (from the Veganomicon). Two majorly upsetting occurences happened on this roasting night:

1. I was out of cumin; my beloved spice.

2. Somehow, the beautiful orange-ish chunks of squash were floating in a sea of oil. Post roasting, quite a few came out soggy.

Nevertheless, it was a tasty mealHalloween 003

Now I’ve had a long day. Not only did I have  a full day of fighting with my PDF’s on my web site; I worked a tiring, long,  and frustrating shift; and successfully showed up entirely too late at a reception.

Sleep is calling me, more than the brownies I made.

One Response to “Chickpea Cutlets and Roasted Butternut Squash”

  1. aredcardigan November 10, 2009 at 4:54 am #

    Aaah those days….the one that over-whelmed ya and sometimes chocolates doesn’t even help a bit. Phooey. Well I hope you’re feeling better physically and emotionally!

    Lame joke time – What do you get what you squeeze an olive? Oliver Twist!

Leave a Reply

