Pumpkins on Trees…

9 Oct

If you have never seen The Halloween Tree, try and find a copy. It is an animated adaption of a Ray Bradbury book by the same name and was a childhood favorite of mine. Halloween wouldn’t have been the same without the Halloween Tree and mom’s pumpkin bread…

I’ve veganized her pumpkin bread recipe so that I may still enjoy it…Unfortunately, the same can not be said for The Halloween tree, as it is impossible to find on DVD and no one has a VHS player anymore (sigh…). Nevertheless, this post is dedicated to the memory of those lazy fall afternoons, with pumpkin bread baking, the ceramic bears in Halloween costumes being carefully placed on shelves, and screenings of one of my favorite Halloween-themed films…

Here’s to You, Mr. Moundshroud

Food: Pumpkin Bread

Halloween 029

Pumpkin Bread

(I made both a loaf and muffins. Muffins seen above)
  • 3 1/3 cup flour
  • 3 C. Sugar
  • 2 t. baking soda
  • 2 t. cinnamon
  • 1/2 t. cloves
  • 1 1/2 t. salt
  • 1 t. nutmeg
  • Egg Replacer for 4 eggs
  • 2 t. vanilla
  • 1 C. vegetable oil (or 1/2 applesauce+1/2 oil)
  • 2 C. (~1 can) pumpkin

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix dry ingredients (flour – nutmeg) in large bowl. Mix egg replacer in separate, small bowl. In another separate bowl,  combine remaining ingredients, including egg replacer mixture. Slowly incorporate dry ingredients into wet ingredients. Divide mixture between two loaf pans. I used one loaf pan and one muffin pan.

Bake loaf for about 50-55 minutes. Muffins for 20 minutes. If you use a mini-loaf pan, I would bake for about the same time as the muffins.

Halloween 036

Enjoy! I fell down on the ground in delight when I took a bite of these babies. I’ve made a veganized version of my this recipe before, but it was not this good or this close to the original. It was like fall jumped into my mouth.

Film: The Halloween Tree

I can’t begin to tell anyone how much I used to enjoy this movie. Perhaps it is due to Bradbury being one of my favorite authors?

Speaking of books, I have to be reading Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. And yes, I am reading Harry Potter in one of my upper level college literature classes–Studies of Children’s Literature. It’s a nice break and I think it’s all around awesome.

Luna Lovegood and D.A. await…

One Response to “Pumpkins on Trees…”

  1. aredcardigan October 10, 2009 at 1:31 am #

    hehehe love the “spooky” theme.

    Your pumpkin bread looks good. I bet it smells better when you were making it!

Leave a Reply

