La.La.La.La.La.Lasagna…

8 Oct

Busy week!

I made lasagna to free up some evenings as this is the last full week of classes before fall break. I also made the lasagna so I would have a reference for my recipe that has just been in my head until now. I am working on a series of articles to be included in a local newspaper, hopefully, and this veggie lasagna seems to be something everyone wants a bite of…

The Main Event

Food: Lasagna

Halloween 015

Vegetable lasagna isn’t the quickest thing to make at first, but on nights when 1-2 hours of cooking time isn’t available, it is pretty nice to just reheat a big slice from the pan. I’ve worked out my veggie lasagna recipe to an almost perfect edition:

  • 1/2 box lasagna noodles
  • 1 large jar organic pasta sauce or 1 large 28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes(+whatever spices you like)
  • 1 yellow squash
  • 1 onion
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 2 stalks of broccoli
  • 1 pack Follow Your Heart Vegan Mozzarella

Directions: Boil pasta. Chop onion, garlic, and squash and add to skillet to saute until soft. When pasta is finished, drain and set aside. Mix sauteed veggies into a large bowl with pasta sauce and broccoli. Spoon enough of the mixture to cover the bottom of a 9×13 pan and layer with lasagna noodles. Top with veggie cheese. Repeat until you run out of sauce, finishing the dish with a good dose of veggie cheese on top (I didn’t really have enough…)

Enjoy with a small salad and a glass of Riesling šŸ˜‰

Film: Beetlejuice

Truthfully, I don’t know what lasagna has to do with Beetlejuice; the movie just sort of popped into my head as I was writing the above recipe. Beetlejuice was a favorite of mine as a kid, and it’s the kind of “horror” movie a youngster could handle. We will call this my family friendly edition of 31 days of Frightful Feasts šŸ˜‰

Coming Soon

Lots of sweet treats! Expect something along the lines of…

  • Cookies!
  • Cupcakes!
  • Ice Cream!
  • Pumpkin-y stuff!

And now, I have to get off to bed ,or at least off to read Ben Franklin’s autobiography. Bonsoir.

Leave a Reply

