Initiate 31 days of frightful feasts…

2 Oct

Today marks the beginning of my little special I’ve decided to cook up for October. Since I absolutely adore fall, Halloween, horror movies, and spooktacular things in general I have decided to center my posts in October around meals+movies. Each day I will list a movie and a terrific treat to go with it. Now, I’m not sure that I will be able to send out a post everyday, so there may be a few weeks that list several days in one post (especially near the end of the month when I attend two weddings a week apart from each other).

If you haven’t noticed, I’ve updated my blog header and theme for the Halloween season.

This is also my version of vegan MOFO. I’m back tracking a little because I didn’t cook the lovely dish below until Thursday evening. I’m not going to officially participate because I don’t know how things will turn out later this month in terms of busy-ness and I won’t be posting everyday.

The food you will see will not necessarily be thematic. Although there will be quite a bit of Halloween-themed goodies abounding.

Without further ado…

A Rather Potent Apotrope

October 1

Meal: Super Garlic Alfredo Sauce on Ziti Pasta

Ziti in Alfredo Sauce with Broccoli

Ziti in Alfredo Sauce with Broccoli

It has been a long time since I tasted the creamy and rich flavor of a good alfredo sauce. Although it wasn’t my all time favorite pasta topping, alfredo definitely has its place in the occasional dish.

Unsatisfied with many of the recipes I came across, I borrowed some ideas from this one and otherwise made up my own:

Super Garlic Alfredo Sauce

  • 1 T oil
  • 1/2 white onion
  • 5 cloves garlic
  • 1 T white wine
  • 1/2 cup + 2 t. margarine (I added some in before heating)
  • 1 cup unsweetened soy milk
  • 3/4 container mori-nu firm tofu
  • 1/4 block Follow Your Heart Vegan Mozzarella (NOTE: This is what I did, if you don’t have the vegan cheese or don’t want to buy it, just use a full pack of the mori-nu tofu)
  • dash nutmeg (I couldn’t taste it, but it was in several recipes so I added it in mine too)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions: Blend all ingredients starting with the margarine. Saute onions and garlic. Turn on low heat and add white wine. Cook for about 5 minutes then add to blender. Mix well. Transfer blender contents to a medium sized saucepan and cook on low-medium/low heat until thoroughly heated. Be sure to keep stirring. Don’t boil!

Broccoli mixed in with the pasta

Broccoli mixed in with the pasta

Serve over pasta and enjoy. Next time I will add a bit more veggies, but the broccoli did nicely today.

Movie: Nosferatu

Lots of garlic to keep the vampires away…

And as far as vampire films go, Nosferatu is one of the best.

Pancakes…Pancakes…

October 2
Food: Pancakes

Etc 061

Film: Cabin Fever

If you’ve seen this film, you will know what I’m talking about 😉 Other than the pancakes scene, the movie is pretty awful.

Leave a Reply

