Homemade Vegan Mayo

14 Aug
(and some chickpea salad too)

Over the course of the summer, I ended up with many, many cans of chickpeas. So I thought the perfect meal for my remaining summer shift lunches at work would be chickpea salad sandwiches!

I’ve made chickpea salad before, but with tahini. I could not find that recipe anywhere, for the life of me. And, I did not want to dish out $4.70 for vegan mayo, sorry but that is just not in the budget. So, I did some research and found an easy vegan recipe for some homemade mayo—and I was pleasantly surprised at how tasty it was!

Homemade Vegan Mayo

The recipe I used is from Ener-G egg replacer (my alterations included):

  • 2 tbsp Ener-G Egg Replacer
  • dash salt
  • 4 tbsp water
  • 1 cup oil- I used a little less, but not much less
  • 1 1/2 tsp  lemon juice ( you could use vinegar)
  • 2 tsp dry mustard

(The recipe called for sugar but I omitted it)

Combine Egg Replacer and water in a small bowl. Beat until peaks are formed. Add other ingredients very slowly while beating continuously. Add oil in small increments. Makes about 1-1/2 cups.

Blog 002

Chickpea Salad

The following is my recipe for chickpea salad, based on how I used to make egg salad:

  • 1 can chickpeas, drained
  • 1 recipe vegan mayo above
  • 2-3 tsp. mustard
  • dash black pepper
  • 1 cup chopped celery or dill relish
  • dash paprika

Mix everything up and enjoy on some nice wheat bread or leftover hamburger buns.

Blog 003

Coming Up

I will be doing several posts in the next few months on vegan wines! I am writing an article on Suite 101 on the basics of vegan wine which I will link to here as well.

I’ve found it sort of difficult to find much good information on vegan wine. I have found several lists and information on what ingredients are not vegan, but other than that I have yet to see any reviews, etc. I will be doing taste and price reviews. I am starting off with with a review on Badger Mountain Merlot! So stay tuned!

3 Responses to “Homemade Vegan Mayo”

  1. aredcardigan August 16, 2009 at 12:16 pm #

    WHY DIDN’T I THINK OF MAKING MY OWN MAYO???

    Thanks for the idea Krista! Sometimes I refuse to shell out dough for things I hardly want to consume….but yea homemade stuff is waaaaay better though vegannaise saves the hassle.

    The chickpea salad looks yum!

  2. jd August 21, 2009 at 7:09 am #

    This is such an awesome idea!

    I’m totally stealing it, okay?

    🙂

    • Krista August 24, 2009 at 5:05 am #

      Be my guest! It worked out pretty nicely!

Leave a Reply

