Vegan French Toast

18 Jul

Before becoming vegan, I used to make scrambled eggs and french toast for breakfast for my sisters and myself. I loved french toast. I’ve tried another recipe for vegan french toast before that was awful. So, one morning I searched again at my beloved vegweb (seriously if you haven’t been here, they have really good recipes and then users offer tips in comments also). And, with luck, I have found my go-to french toast recipe.

Blog 268

The recipe is supposed to make vegan french toast sticks, which is what I have made this time around. I’ve also made some regular french toast, but of course that isn’t as fun 😉

Blog 269

I also made some scrambled tofu to go with the french toasts. Here is my recipe:

Scrambled Tofu

– 1 block o’ tofu

– a little olive oil (or other)

– 1/2 onion

1/2 green pepper

~1 tsp. cayenne

~1/4 cup soy sauce

a little turmeric

~1-2 tsp. cumin

lots of ground black pepper

~1 tsp. liquid smoke

First, I try and drain the tofu a little before adding it to the wok. While the tofu is draining, I chop the veggies and put them in the wok with a little oil and the soy sauce.

Add the tofu and liquid smoke.

Add spices.

Cook for your preference, I like my veggies a little crispy, so I don’t cook ’em for very long.

Blog 273

I wish I had better lighting so my pictures didn’t come out all orange-y. Oh well, I can get some good pictures sometimes….

Lastly, I would like to share a smoothie my BF and I whipped up after having a mango and not knowing what to do with it. The ingredients for this smoothie are:

1 mango

a lot of peaches

1 banana

some soymilk

Blog 356

The smoothie turned out nicely, after all, the BF does this for a living. Tastes a lot like my favorite smoothie at his place of employment!

Well, I have  a pretty busy Saturday ahead. I have to write some journal entries for my internship, do some editing, and then go to job #2 later.

Have a great weekend!

One Response to “Vegan French Toast”

  1. aredcardigan July 20, 2009 at 11:35 am #

    Hmmm I have no idea why I can’t see your lovely pictures:(

Leave a Reply

