Galaxy Foods Rice Vegan Cheese Slices Review

15 Jul

Awhile back, I was contacted by Galaxy Foods to do a review on their Rice Vegan cheese slices; this was through Suite 101 where I’ve been doing some article writing on vegan foods and issues. I’ve already posted my review there, but I wanted to do a blog review as well!

Rice Vegan Cheese Review

Rice Vegan cheese slices are a good source of calcium.They are casein-free, soy-free, dairy-free, preservative-free, cholesterol-free and gluten-free!

The folks at Galaxy Foods sent me full samples of there three different Rice Vegan flavors: Cheddar, American, and Pepper Jack.

After becoming vegan, I tried many different types of vegan cheese, all with the same result—they were grainy, had a funny aftertaste, and didn’t melt worth a darn. Rice Vegan cheese slices are different. They melt, they don’t taste funny, and they are smooth when cooked.

So without further ado, let’s get on to the “cheeses”!

American Flavor

I grew up on American cheese. Running into the kitchen for a snack, it would be one of the first items I would grab. And my signature dish in high school was a grilled cheese sandwich with two slices of American cheese….

Voila! Rice Vegan American flavor cheese slices are great for a quick afternoon lunch of a grilled cheese sandwich and some baked tater tots. The flavor is super strong, and doesn’t taste exactly like American cheese, but it is a far step ahead of every other vegan version. As you can see, it melts incredibly well…

Blog 224

Pepper Jack Flavor

All I have to say about the Pepper Jack is wow. The Pepper Jack flavor is soooooooooooooooooo good. Really. I love spicy things, and this was just the perfect amount. It melts well and it has a great flavor, bottom line. I used mine in several different items, including a quesadilla made with homemade tortillas…

Blog 263

Cheddar Flavor

The Cheddar flavor of Rice Vegan is good, but of the three is my least favorite. It doesn’t quite capture the sharpness that one would taste when eating a slice of cheddar cheese. However, as far as vegan cheeses go, it is still very tasty. Because of the super melting power of these cheeses (I am telling you, to melt at a low heat is unheard of in vegan cheese!) I took a chance laying a slice of the Cheddar flavor over a baked potato. Now, I wouldn’t do this with any vegan cheese slice, because they are usually not know to melt well without high heat. But Rice Vegan melted perfectly…

Blog 282

Overall, I was very pleased with the taste, texture, and melting quality of the Rice Vegan cheese slices. Even if they don’t taste exactly like their non-vegan counterparts, these cheese slices are something I will definitely be having again!

One Response to “Galaxy Foods Rice Vegan Cheese Slices Review”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Veggie Quesadillas « - January 28, 2010

    […] quesadillas; I’ve subbed cheese with nutritional yeast mixtures, spicy vegan nacho dip, rice “cheese” slices, and most recently, shredded soy […]

Leave a Reply

