Vegan Pot Pies, Pasta, and Plants

13 Jun

Yesterday was pretty rotten. I had some very rude ladies in the training open-session I was watching over in the absence of my supervisor. My phone was completely dead so I couldn’t discuss the problem with my supervisor (and it died in the middle of our conversation), my phone charger fell to pieces in my hands so I couldn’t raise my phone from the dead, I had to spend the whole evening buying a new phone from a company that is being taken over by a bigger cell phone carrier (so I had five phones to choose from :/ ), and lastly (but definitely not least), I foolishly tried squeezing between a van parked in the narrow drive of my apartment parking lot and the parked card—cracking her tail light and apparently scraping her car. Needless to saw, it was kind of a drag.

But today is a new day, and other than explaining to my parents why the insurance company called them this morning I don’t have to think about yesterday. I just finished eating one of my rice cheese samples on a veggie patty and it’s looking like high-time for some reading on the balcony. But first, some food.

Veggie-Extravaganza Pot Pie

Blog 133

When I was younger (and not vegan) my dad and I would make small pot pies together. The pies were always simple, but I always loved the creamy fillings and perfectly flaky crust. I looked around for some pot pie recipes I liked, but ended up improvising. When I make it again, I will be sure to make notes of what I do so I can formulate a kick-butt recipe.

Pasta Della California

Blog 142


Oh. My. Gosh. If you haven’t tried this recipe from the Veganomicon yet, you have no idea what you are missing. I tend to get burnt out on red sauce pastas ( but it’s so cheap!) so I loved this spicy, garlic-y, tasty version. Also, I love avocados. Definitely follow the recommendation and make some smoky grilled tempeh to serve with the pasta. Believe me, you will not regret it.

Vegan Chocolate Ice Cream

Blog 226So I bought an ice cream maker. 🙂

My “Backyard”

Blog 192

Blog 196Here’s a little view of my balcony. I’m starting some Basil and Oregano in the small pots and I have some baby tomatoes and parsley to plant as well. I love having a balcony! I was too worried that things would get stolen at my other apartment!

Speaking of the balcony, my little camp chairs out there are really calling to me, as is A Year in Provence.

Have a great weekend all!

One Response to “Vegan Pot Pies, Pasta, and Plants”

  1. aredcardigan June 15, 2009 at 11:34 am #

    Wow I’m impressed with the pasta dish.

    Krista, the pot pie pic ain’t showing up:(

    I love me some good pot pies too!

    Hope all is well!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

