Summer’s Beginnings

10 Jun

Note: This was written a few days ago. For some reason, my computer wouldn’t upload pictures and them my internet died so I’m posting it while at work. cheers!

Right now I’m sitting in my living room. I have just my screen door separating me and the rain. The air is cool and damp and the birds are chirping. So far, it’s been a really good day. I was very productive when I got home and moderately productive at work. 😉

I made some hummus earlier in the evening so I didn’t go straight from work at a computer to internship work at a computer. I also made some coffee. I’m trying to cut back, so I made just a small cup. I have to tell you, coffee+thunderstorms= magic.

coffeeyum

I didn’t follow a recipe when I made this hummus. I had 1/3 a cup of tahini in my head for some reason; so I worked around that:

Smoky, Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

1 can of chickpeas

1/3 cup tahini

2 tsp. lemon juice

1 tbsp. oil

2/3 cup roasted red pepper (I technically used two big chunks, which more or less fit into 2/3 cup).

1 tsp. liquid smoke

~1 tsp. cumin

salt and cayenne pepper to taste

Blend/process, do what you do, and enjoy. Mine’s chilling in the fridge right now for a later rendevous with Z and season 5 of the office.

RoastedREdPepphummus

Fresh Produce

Saturday I went to a local farmer’s market. Unfortunately it was incredibly windy and it seemed that many participants had packed up. Also, I had only a few days prior made a trip to our local organic and health foods store and picked up my weekly supply of veggies. I was really looking for some local fruit. so….

I went to a farmer’s stand that is near my old apartment. They had peaches, blueberries, tomatoes, peppers, watermelons, and a few other good things. We bought some peaches, a tomato, and a green pepper.

Peaches

The Rain

I really do love the rain. Sometimes I say I don’t love it, but that is usually when it’s March and the rain is cold and finding it’s way into my flats. It has been nice here with coffee in hand. I do need to get to work though, these help files won’t edit themselves.

Leave a Reply

