A recap of finals week (published about one week late)

20 May

As of today, around 3:15 in the afternoon, I completed my last final of the Spring 2009 semester–and it feels wonderful. The week has been exciting, hectic, and super fast to say the least. I just finished pulling a batch of coffee-infused vegan brownies out of the oven and I am sitting at my computer enjoying the smell of sandalwood and having a nice cup of coffee with vanilla soy creamer. I would say my summer is off to a good start.

For my French final, I was to give a presentation on the food of Algeria. Although I really wanted to veganize an Algerian pastry, I stuck with this incredibly delicious fruit salad instead:

Chlada Fakya

I compiled my own version from recipes at various places, here’s one that is the closest (if it seems a little off, it’s translated from French).

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cantaloupe
  • 4 oranges, peeled and wedges separated
  • 2 medium apples, wedged
  • 2 bananas sliced
  • about  1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 2 tablespoons orange blossom water
  • 1/4 teapsoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Prepare all your fruit and mix in a bowl– be careful not to smoosh bananas. Add the juices, orange blossom water, cinnamon, sugar, and vanilla and mix gently. Chill for a couple of hours before serving.

This fruit salad is so good. It made a really, really, nice breakfast. We served the fruit salad to the class with some homemade mint tea (one of my group members grew mint). The two went perfectly together. I will be making this fruit salad for sure this summer!

Blog 087

Leave a Reply

