A Dream within a Dream…

21 Aug

As I prepare to bid my sister farewell for the next few months, get ready to start my last full year of college ( I will only go one semester in 09), and enjoy the last bits of summer, it all strikes me as almost an illusion.
My little sister going to college? Ha. It’s hard to imagine her going off in such a big place and living on her own. It seemed like so little time ago that she was starting high school, learning to drive, graduating…
Time passes us all so quickly, and yet we rush it, at least, I know I do. I wait and wait for something grand to happen, and then I miss all the other days in between that I could enjoy- each one lasting momentarily in the grand scheme of things, but each one precious in it’s own way.

Now enough of the sappy, let’s move on to the chocolate-y, the gooey, and the tasty. I give you MUFFINS! and COOKIES! The cookies with the white chips are unfortunately, not vegan. The white chips have milk in them but I wanted to give my sister something home-y for Chicago. And for the life of me I could not find any vegan white choco chips. So if anyone knows where to find reasonably priced ones, or knows how to make some killer vegan white chocolate….please share this valuable information….lol…

The muffins however, are completely vegan. I concocted a batch of these beauties about a week ago. It’s my own recipe and I wanted to see how the muffins would turn out. And survey says…(my bf and roommate) yum!

The original batch did stick the to paper cups however, and I found out that was due to the lack of oil in the muffins. Healthy=sticky apparently. So, I added more flaxseed and coated the paper cups with a little olive oil.


Spiced Walnut Muffins

2 cups flour
1 tbsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
2/3 cup brown sugar (or half brown, half not)

1/4 cup oil
1 mashed banana
1/2 cup applesauce
2 tbsp. ground flaxseed mixed with 4 tbsp. water
2/3 cup soymilk
1-2 cups walnuts

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
Mix together flaxseed and water until thick and gluey. Set aside.
Mix together flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and sugars.
In a separate bowl, mash the banana. Add oil, applesauce, flaxseed mixture and soymilk. Add to dry ingredients.
Add walnuts.
Pour batter into muffin cups and bake for 23-25 mintues.

I thought they would be good for snacking and breakfasting in the Windy City this weekend.

Cheers and have a great weekend everyone! 🙂

You are not wrong, who deem
That my days have been a dream;

-Edgar Allan Poe

2 Responses to “A Dream within a Dream…”

  1. ChocolateCoveredVegan August 22, 2008 at 9:12 am #

    Time does go by so fast; too fast at times. It seems like such a short time ago that I was in elmentary school!

  2. VeganCowGirl August 23, 2008 at 12:04 am #

    I know how you feel…my sister is 11 years younger than me, and she too starts school this year. I wish your sister a great start – and you too! The muffins look great, I will totally try the recipe RIGHT now. I have a whole bunch of walnuts and a sleeping K – they will be a nice surprise for when he wakes up. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

