Some Foodstuffs -Kale

15 Aug

I made a pizza the other night with some tomatoes and kale. It was really good, and the crust I made was really crispy! I found the recipe for the crust here. I added some dried basil into the dough, and the flavor was still present after cooking. woohoo!

And then I made some kind of beany, rice, kale mixture. It was fast as easy and wonderfully tasty. Here’s what I used:

Kale and Bean Bonanza

1 cup rice
1-2 tbsp. chili powder
1 tsp. cayenne pepper
1 can red kidney beans
1 kale leaf
1 small tomato
1/2 green bell pepper
~ 1 tsp. cumin
S+P to taste

Cook rice according to directions on box, bag,etc. Add chili powder and cayenne to rice while cooking.
Heat beans, tomato, pepper and add spices.
Add kale and cover until kale is limp.
Mix all together and enjoy!

I imagine that my dinners are going to be a lot of things like this in the fall. I was fortunate enough last year to have a fairly small workload. But I’m nearing the end of my undergraduate degree, which means lots of upper level writing classes, French grammar classes, and lots of reading for lit. classes. As busy as I will most likely be, the classes are all what I want to be taking, and I’m done with math forever 😉

Before all of that, I have some non-food related pictures to share. The BF and I visited this wonderful little state park (which included a “castle” built in the early 1900’s) that we just found out existed, and we were definitely not disappointed:



And now, I have some more summer left to savor.

3 Responses to “Some Foodstuffs -Kale”

  1. VeganCowGirl August 15, 2008 at 12:54 pm #

    MMmmmmm I love love love basil on pizza. I admit to never having tried Kale on my pizza, but you have inspired me.

    The pictures of your day trip look beautiful! What a great way to enjoy a day.

  2. Kumudha August 15, 2008 at 2:55 pm #

    Pizza is such a great dish! However, I have never used kale in my pizza.

    Your day trip sounds so much fun!

  3. ChocolateCoveredVegan August 16, 2008 at 6:41 am #

    Oh your pizza just looks wonderful. And now I want to try kale on MY pizza.

Leave a Reply

