ButterBanzo Soup

12 Aug

The bounty from the family gardens is never ending! As I mentioned in a previous post, my grandma had given me a butternut squash from her garden. I told I would have no problem finding something to do with it!

I have made only one butternut squash soup. I made it for my boyfriend and myself to eat on Christmas (and as it turned out that was the only thing we had, all the veggies were coated in butter 😦 ). That Christmas soup turned out okay- a little chunky (as I had no blender), a little too sweet, and a lot just not what I wanted. However, this time I took great care in my soup making, (and I bought a blender a few months ago 😮 ) creating the comforting splendor you are about to meet:

butterbanzo

ButterBanzo Soup

1 tbsp. vegan margarine
1/2 large white onion
1 medium roasted butternut sqaush
1 tsp. minced garlic (or 1-2 cloves)
2 tsp. cumin
1-2 tsp. tarragon
3 cups veggie broth
1 can chickpeas
salt and pepper to taste
handful of green onions

Heat margarine in a large pan.
Add onions, garlic, and spices. Cook until onions turn translucent.
Add butternut squash and veggie broth. Bring to a low boil.
Remove soup from heat. Let cool a bit and then begin transferring the soup to a blender. Blend about half the soup and pour into a pan or bowl to hold the blended mixture while you blend the rest.
After all soup is blended transfer it back to the large pan and put it back on the heat.
Add chickpeas and simmer for 10 minutes or so.
Ladle into bowls and garnish with green onions.

I thought it was fantastic, and very different from the soup I had made previously. Yum!

3 Responses to “ButterBanzo Soup”

  1. VeganCowGirl August 13, 2008 at 10:41 am #

    Butternut squash is amazing. I love to broil it for about 30 minutes and then putting it in a frying pan with some curry spices…

    Your soup looks amazing.
    Congrats on the blender!

  2. Katie August 13, 2008 at 8:56 pm #

    Yum! That looks so tasty. I love any kind of squash. Great blog 🙂

  3. Liz² August 14, 2008 at 5:42 am #

    mmm, that looks yummy! squash soup is the best, so comforting, at any time of year.

Leave a Reply

