Making use of Produce

11 Aug

My family has been giving me tomatoes and cucumbers constantly for the past few weeks. Their garden managed to produce pretty much nothing else, save for a few delightful little jalapeños 😀 and some nice looking bell peppers. Needless to say, I’ve been eating a lot of cucumber sandwiches and salads. When I ran out of lettuce, I just made salads without them, including this Cucumber and Cabbage salad:

I had a bag of leftover cabbage and carrots from my noodle bowl, and of course lots of cucumbers and tomatoes. I added some walnuts and some vegan parmesan.

I also made a pretty tasty baked pasta dish that also included some vegan parmesan. I would have loved some nice Veganrella (which I found to melt wonderfully in a veggie lasagna I made awhile ago), but most soy/rice cheeses are just too expensive for my college student budget. So I opted for buying the parmesan, which will last much longer. Anyway, on to the food!

I would post the recipe, but I don’t really have an adequate cooking time. I put it in for about 12 minutes, and it came out piping hot, but apparently the under layers weren’t cooked quite well enough. So we had to microwave it :/

No worries though. I also discovered that I have a “cuisine” setting on my camera, which has resulted in much closer, much clearer food photos. yay! And, I managed to create a super scrumptious recipe for the butternut squash my grandma gave me from her garden, and I will post that recipe soon. 🙂

2 Responses to “Making use of Produce”

  1. Veggienetters August 11, 2008 at 6:26 pm #

    Thanks for your comment right back at cha. I’m going to be posting that recipe to my blog with some pics pretty soon. My dad is working on my desktop and it’s got the photo software on it! I just saw you are a tech writer… I’m a tech writer… finance stuff… very very boring… so boring I get on the elevator every day and scream.

  2. VeganCowGirl August 12, 2008 at 3:48 am #

    The pasta looks great! And I love love love the title of your previous post – you have this English grad school lover’s heart!

    Great blog.

Leave a Reply

