Much Ado about Tofu

7 Aug

I’ve decided to devout this post to the tofu dishes I’ve consumed in the last couple. I’m not hugely fond of tofu…but it can be really good with some TLC. So here are the tantalizing tofu treats I’ve been munching on:

Tofu in an asian-type noodle bowl. This was a nice break from simple stir-fry with rice, and even though it was made with whole wheat spaghetti and not a classic Asian noodle like a rice noodle, it was darn good and satisfying.

For the sauce on the noodles, I used some leftover general sauce that came with some takeout from my new job (yay!). But I marinated my tofu in a mixture of soy sauce, sugar, cumin, and cayenne pepper, then I poured some of the leftover over the veggies in the wok. I topped it off with raw cabbage and carrot and some raw sprouts!

I also made some Chili-Cornmeal Crusted Tofu from Veganomicon. I have made this breaded tofu before, and I promised myself that I would bake it the next time I made it. But alas, I didn’t have my trusty cookbook, and I had no idea what to do for the baking time. So I opted to fry once again.

The tofu was still tasty. Especially served alongside some steamed broccoli and roasted potatoes.


It was kind of a vegan southern homestyle meal. All it was missing was sweet tea and a slab of cornbread. 🙂

I’ve been reading up on some great raw food blogs lately. And although I don’t know that I could commit to a raw food diet, as baking is one of my passions, I admire those who are following them and will probably try to incorporate raw food days into my weekly meals.
That’s all for now. I’ve been trying out some exciting new baking recipes and making really good cucumber salads, but I will save that for another day!

2 Responses to “Much Ado about Tofu”

  1. Jen August 8, 2008 at 9:34 am #

    I have always wanted to get into tofu but have never been able to. It has a funny texture that I just can’t get past.

    I just started eating kale a few months ago as well. I have actually never had it cooked. I’ll have to try it. I really think that raw kale is an acquired taste. At first it was a bit leafy but after a few tries it was very palatable, tasty even. It’s funny that every single time that I have purchased kale, the checkout person at the grocery store is completely puzzled. I always get asked, “What is that?” or “What do you make with that?”- It has become sort of a running joke between my husband and me.

    Good luck with the fall semester. What is your major?

  2. VeggieGirl August 11, 2008 at 12:34 pm #

    Kale = VeggieGirl obsession.

    Saw your comment on my blog – definitely try bok choy!! :0)

Leave a Reply

