What to do with a Very Large Zucchini

5 Aug

So my boyfriend’s mom decided to give him a big zucchini, because she thought that he and I would know what to do with it.
And of course we do! I know zucchini is better when it’s small, but it’s oddly not spongy and the seeds are normal sized. So far, we’ve put in a tofu stir-fry noodle bowl that I will mention more in an upcoming post, and some delicious sandwiches we had for lunch on Sunday.

I love sandwiches- hot, cold, toasted, you name it. I’ve been eating a lot of sandwiches with cucumbers lately because my parents have been giving me so many from their garden. But I wasn’t in the mood for another cucumber sandwich; I wanted something warm and satisfying. So, I breaded some slices of zucchini by coating them in a mixture of soymilk and cornstarch and then tossing them around in some cornmeal (with a little seasoning). Then I fried the zucchini until it was nice and crisp, and added some onion and green pepper to saute for a bit.

We toasted some slices of wheat bread, spread them with hummus, added the zucchini and sauteed veggies, and then topped that all off with some fresh romaine lettuce and spicy sprouts. It was tasty, tangy, and crunchy! 😮

I hope everyone is off to a good week! 🙂

3 Responses to “What to do with a Very Large Zucchini”

  1. The Vegan Snorkeler August 5, 2008 at 3:12 pm #

    That sandwich looks so perfect for summer! You just gave me an idea for some garden-fresh squash I have.

  2. Jen August 6, 2008 at 8:00 am #

    hello! thanks so much for the comment; it’s nice to know that someone is out there. i will definitely be reading your blog and would love to add it as well. hopefully we can swap some good recipes.

  3. Veggienetters August 11, 2008 at 1:00 pm #

    Oohhh yummmy…. My husband and I have been eating a Mediterranean Veggie Sammich that was on the cover of Vegetarian Times every week for a month… it’s grilled zucchini, squash, eggplant, roasted red peppers, with hummus and pesto. I think the recipe calls for mozzarella too but I leave it off. I’ve just come to love eggplant within the last few days so we haven’t tried it with eggplant yet… and sometimes I sub the hummus/pest and make a Chipotle Aioli with Nayonaise and Chipotle with Adobo ground up in the food processor.

Leave a Reply

